Minimee

ExpressionEngine 2

Back to this add-on's main page
View Other Add-ons From John D. Wells

Asynchronous Loading

Support Request

Todd
Todd

In my quest to speed up my websites, I’ve been actively making as much of Javascript asynchronous as I can. I’m not an expert on how to do this. I’m mainly been replacing tags with the new asynchronous tags that a lot of services I was using provide. So I’m a little unsure of how I would do this (or if it’s even possible to do) with the combine Javascript file that Minimee generates. So…

a) is this possible?

b) any pointers on how to do it?

Thanks for making such a great add-on!

-Todd

John D Wells
# 1
Developer
John D Wells

Hi Todd,

Good question.  First, Yes it is possible.  You may be aware that the way Minimee generates the cache script & link tags is based off of the format of the first such tag it encounters on the tag pair run.  So in the following example:

{exp:minimee:js}
script src="plugins.js" async="async" >< /script >
script src="script.js" >< /script >
{/exp:minimee:js} 

The rendered cache file would be based off the first tag, so:

script src="as876dfa98s7d6fa9s8df5a9s8dfa9asdf.js" async="async" >< /script 

So, that’s how you’d use it; question is should you, and if so when (and when not).

Personally, I tend to not run Minimee on any external scripts (Facebook, Google Analytics, Twitter etc); I take the view that these scripts are most likely already cached in people’s browsers; plus it ensures I always get their most up to date code (since Minimee cannot detect changes to external files).

And if you’re like me, those are most likely the only viable candidates for asynchronous loading; all other scripts I might need are usually reliant upon each other (e.g. jquery + cycle + bootstrap + plugins + scripts).