Google Maps for ExpressionEngine

ExpressionEngine 2

Back to this add-on's main page
View Other Add-ons From Objective HTML

Client side vs. server side geocoding

Support Request

pEEter
pEEter

Hi, I’m still fairly new to this so please bare with me. I’m trying to wrap my head around the concept of client-side and server-side geocoding with Google and how it relates to the 2500 requests/day quota Google gives.

Does Google Maps for EE use client side or server side geocoding? In the docs there is a warning about proper design and caching of your data to prevent running into the limit but practically speaking, the way I understand the quota, if it’s client-side geocoding then each user at a unique ip address would need to make 2500 geocoded requests/day to reach a limit? That seems unlikely. However, if GM for EE uses server side then a moderately busy site would easily hit this limit.

I’d appreciate a clear explanation of how to use the geocoded feature of GM for EE so I can design my app properly and avoid excessive geocoded requests. In the app I’m working on, using reverse geolocation is a primary part of the feature-set.

Thanks!

pEEter
# 1
pEEter

Still wondering about this. Anyone have anything interesting to say? Thanks.

Objective HTML
# 2
Developer
Objective HTML

Sorry for the delay on this. I was out of town at PeersConf all last week and been using today to get caught up. I don’t have time to properly reply right now, but I wanted to let you know that I did get this and will get back to you asap. It will most likely won’t be until tomorrow until I get a chance to reply.

pEEter
# 3
pEEter

Thanks, looking forward to the answer!

Objective HTML
# 4
Developer
Objective HTML

Sorry for the delay on this reply, but just had a chance to get back to you on this.